ROYGBIV

I ran out to purchase all these colorful veggies yesterday and as soon as I got home and started washing, and chopping, and roasting, it started SNOWING. Again. Again, with the snow. Buffalo winters will always be in my blood, but even I am over it. And if I could show Winter just how over it I am, I’d shove this cheerful pot of a rainbow right in It’s face.

There’s no other way to say this — this dish is incredibly easy. Too easy. So easy, in fact, you don’t need a recipe.

First, roast a bunch of vegetables. I used root vegetables (potato, sweet potato, carrot, beet) and I threw in a butternut squash because it fit in with the bunch and because YUM. I was already low-n-slow cooking a pot roast at 325 degrees at the time, so I just put these in along with it. Roasted until fork tender, about an hour. Otherwise, turn that heat up to 450 and you’ll cut your roast time in about half. It’s probably not even considered roasting at such a lower temp, but whatever. I BAKED them, then.

In the meantime in a big pot on the stovetop, crush up a 28oz can of whole tomatoes with the sauce. Add the green stuff. Kale, spinach, collards, whatever floats your giant green boat. I cooked until slightly wilty, and then added the roasted veg.

I’m serving this with egg noodles and pot roast. Which is not your mama’s pot roast. You’ll want to stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

